iTunes & App Store iTunes & App Store

Scandinavian Crime Fiction

                                 - Your Literary Portal Into Northern Deviance



Jussi Adler-Olsen

"Gripping storytelling. Features all the hallmarks Scandi-book fans have come to adore"
The Guardian





Jussi Adler-Olsen

Jussi Adler-Olsen grew up at various mental hospitals across Denmark where his father was a psychiatric doctor. He later studied medicine, sociology and cinematography before launching a career as publisher, editor and writer within a wide ranging field - from Groucho Marx biographies to a non-fiction piece on marital relations.

Since 2007 Jussi is fully focused on writing crime fiction. To date four installments of The Department Q series have been published in Denmark, and Jussi Adler-Olsen psychological thrillers have been praised in Scandinavia as well as internationally for their gripping story telling and dark humor.

Jussi's protagonist is the deeply flawed Copenhagen detective Carl Morck, head of "Department Q", a special police unit created for a type of unsolved crimes that the political establishment has deemed as deserving "special scrutiny". However, Carl Morck sees very little of the dedicated budget, and he is left with modest resources to resolve grim crimes others have labeled a "waste of time".    

Thus far only one of Jussi Adler-Olsen's books has been published in English. The US version is titled The Keeper of Lost Causes, and the UK version is titled Mercy. However, despite the different titles, it is one and the same English translation by Lisa Hartford.

» Click on the links or the book covers below to read more about each title.

The Department Q Series - In Chronological Order

Jussi Adler-Olsen, The Keeper of Lost CausesJussi Adler-Olsen, Mercy